

THE STATE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT / THE UNIVERSITY OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK / ALBANY, NY 12234

TO:

Cultural Education Committee

FROM:

Mark Schaming mgh

SUBJECT:

Appointments to Regents Advisory Council on Museums

DATE:

AUTHORIZATION(S):

April 27, 2017

SUMMAR

Issue for Decision

Does the Board of Regents approve of the Commissioner's recommendation to reappoint three members and appoint five new members to fill vacancies on the Regents Advisory Council on Museums?

Proposed Handling

This item is before the Cultural Education Committee for discussion and will go before the Board of Regents for approval.

Procedural History

At the January 2012 meeting the Board supported the creation of an elevenmember Regents Advisory Council on Museums to advise the Board and Department. The Regents Advisory Council on Museums is appointed pursuant to 8 NYCRR 3.12(a)(4). Members serve up to a five-year term by appointment of the Commissioner with approval by the Board of Regents.

Background Information

Members of the Regents Advisory Council on Museums offer advice and consultation on issues of policy and service pursuant to the Board's statutory mandate to operate the State Museum and oversee museums across New York State. The Advisory Council is supported by staff from the Office of Cultural Education and the Deputy Commissioner of Cultural Education acts as the convener and chair of the council.

Current members of the council include:

- Kate Bennett, President of the Rochester Museum & Science Center
- Suzanne LeBlanc, President of the Long Island Children's Museum
- Sara Pasti, Director of the Samuel Dorsky Museum of Art at SUNY New Paltz

Recommendation

It is recommended that the Board approve the Commissioner's appointments.

The Commissioner recommends the following reappointments and appointments:

- Paul S. D'Ambrosio, President and CEO of the Fenimore Art Museum, be reappointed to a five-year term through May 31, 2022.
- Cecilia Esposito, Director of the Plattsburgh Art Museum, be reappointed to a five-year term through May 31, 2022.
- Daniel Slippen, Vice President of Government Relations of the American Museum of Natural History, be reappointed to a five-year term through May 31, 2022.
- Jan Ramirez, Chief Curator of the National September 11 Memorial Museum, be appointed to a five-year term through May 31, 2022.
- Joe Lin-Hill, Deputy Director of the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, be appointed to a five-year term through May 31, 2022.
- Elizabeth Dunbar, Director of the Everson Museum of Art, be appointed to a five-year term through May 31, 2022.
- Holly Block, Executive Director of The Bronx Museum of the Arts, be appointed to a five-year term through May 31, 2022.
- Kris Wetterlund, Director of Education and Interpretation of the Corning Museum of Glass, be appointed to a five-year term through May 31, 2022.