

TO: The Honorable the Members of the Board of Regents

FROM: Douglas E. Lentivech

SUBJECT: Appointments to the Committee on the Professions

DATE: February 24, 2020

AUTHORIZATION(S): Sharem & Take

SUMMARY

Issue for Decision (Consent Agenda)

Should the Board of Regents approve the appointments of John D'Agati, Mary Drzonsc, Thania Fernández, Dina Jazrawi, Jason Kramer, Anthony Lofrumento, Ceylane Meyers-Ruff, Phyllis Morris, William Murphy, Thomas Ruller, and Mark Shaming to the Committee on the Professions?

Reason(s) for Consideration

Required by the Rules of the Board of Regents.

Proposed Handling

The question will come before the Board of Regents at its March 2020 meeting where it will be submitted for action.

Procedural History

Part 24 of the Rules of the Board of Regents establishes the Committee on the Professions and requires the appointment of members by the Board of Regents.

Background Information

The Committee on the Professions (COP) was established by the Board of Regents to assist the Board in supervising admission to and regulation of the licensed professions. Composed of Department officers designated by the Board and working in panels of three, the COP considers atypical licensure cases wherein applicants seek to meet given requirements by submitting credentials that are the substantial equivalent in scope and content to those normally presented. The COP also makes final determinations

concerning questions of moral character for purposes of initial licensure; hears and makes recommendations to the Regents concerning requests for restoration of a professional license that has been revoked or surrendered; and reviews and makes recommendations to the Regents on proposed penalties in consent orders related to professional misconduct.

Due to the departure of several members of the Committee on the Professions and the substantial workloads carried by current Committee members, it has become more difficult to plan meetings of the COP for which the requisite 3-member panel must be selected. As a result, additional Committee members are needed. Accordingly, I am recommending the addition of the following individuals to the roster of COP members (attached):

- **John D'Agati**, Senior Deputy Commissioner for Education Policy
- Mary Drzonsc, Director of Operations, Office of Management Services
- Thania Fernández, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Ophthalmic Dispensing, Physical Therapy and Podiatry
- Dina Jazrawi, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Pharmacy and Midwifery
- **Jason Kramer**, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Acupuncture, Occupational Therapy and Speech Language Pathology and Audiology
- Anthony Lofrumento, Secretary to the Board of Regents
- Ceylane Meyers-Ruff, Assistant Commissioner of the Office of Adult Career and Continuing Education Services
- Phyllis Morris, Chief Financial Officer
- William Murphy, Deputy Commissioner for the Office of Higher Education
- Thomas J. Ruller, Assistant Commissioner for the NYS Archives
- Mark Shaming, Deputy Commissioner for the Office of Cultural Education

They have expressed interest in participating in the licensing and disciplinary processes by serving on the COP and would be valuable additions to the Committee.

Recommendation

VOTED: that the Board of Regents approve the attached roster of the Committee on the Professions, effective March 3, 2020.

Timetable for Implementation

Immediately.

Committee on the Professions Roster of Members

(Effective March 2020)

Sarah S. Benson, Director of Operations, Office of the Professions

Jane W. Blair, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Engineering and Land Surveying and for Interior Design

Stephen Boese, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Medicine, Athletic Trainers Committee, Medical Physics Committee, Dietetics and Nutrition, and Veterinary Medicine **Dolores Cottrell**, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Dentistry Chiropractic and Optometry

John D'Agati, Senior Deputy Commissioner for Education Policy

Kathleen M. Doyle, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Applied Behavior Analysis, Massage Therapy, Perfusion, Psychology, & Clinical Laboratory Technology

Mary Drzonsc, Director of Operations, Office of Management Services

Steven M. Earle, Director of the Office for Diversity, Ethics and Access

Thania Fernández, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Ophthalmic Dispensing, Physical Therapy and Podiatry

David H. Hamilton, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Social Work and Mental Health Practitioners

Dina Jazrawi, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Pharmacy and Midwifery

Jason Kramer, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Acupuncture, Occupational Therapy and Speech Language Pathology and Audiology

Anthony Lofrumento, Secretary to the Board of Regents

Robert Lopez, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Architecture and Landscape Architecture

Ceylane Meyers-Ruff, Assistant Commissioner for the Office of Adult Career and Continuing Education Services

Phyllis Morris, Chief Financial Officer

William Murphy, Deputy Commissioner for the Office of Higher Education

Susan Naccarato, Director of Professional Licensing Services

Thomas J. Ruller, Assistant Commissioner for the NYS Archives

Mark Shaming, Deputy Commissioner for the Office of Cultural Education

Kevin Smith, Deputy Commissioner of the Office of Adult Career and Continuing Education Services

Suzanne Sullivan, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Nursing and Respiratory Therapy, and the Psychotherapy/Psychoanalysis Review Unit

Leslie Templeman, Director, Office of College and University Evaluation

Jennifer Winters, Executive Secretary of the State Boards for Certified Shorthand and Reporting Public Accountancy