

TO: The Honorable Members of the Board of Regents

FROM: Mark Schaming

SUBJECT: Appointments to Regents Advisory Council on Museums

DATE: November 30, 2023

AUTHORIZATION(S):

SUMMARY

Issue for Decision (Consent)

Should the Board of Regents approve of the Commissioner's recommendation to renew three members and appoint five new members to fill vacancies on the Regents Advisory Council on Museums?

Reason(s) for Consideration

Required by State statute.

Proposed Handling

This issue is presented to the Cultural Education Committee for discussion and recommendation to the Full Board for adoption at its December 2023 meeting.

Procedural History

New appointments to the Regents Advisory Council on Museums are presented to the Board of Regents for review and approval.

Background Information

Members of the Regents Advisory Council on Museums offer advice and consultation on issues of policy and service pursuant to the Board's statutory mandate to operate the State Museum and oversee museums across New York State. The Advisory Council is supported by staff from the Office of Cultural Education and the Deputy Commissioner of Cultural Education acts as the convener and chair of the council.

Current members of the council include:

- David Kahn, Executive Director of the Adirondack Experience, Museum on Blue Mountain Lake
- Elizabeth Jacks, Executive Director of the Thomas Cole National Historic Site
- Tracy Fitzpatrick, Director of the Neuberger Museum of Art at SUNY Purchase
- Mieke Fay, Director of Education and Interpretation at the Corning Museum of Glass
- Joe Stahlman, Seneca Nation

Related Regent's Items

Not applicable.

Recommendation

It is recommended that the Board of Regents take the following action:

VOTED: That the Board of Regents approve the appointments recommended by the Commissioner.

- Erika Floreska, President of the Long Island Children's Museum
- Steve Dubnik, President and CEO of the Strong Museum of Play
- Rocky Bucano, Executive Director of the National Hip Hop Museum
- Heather Arnet, Executive Director and CEO of the Heckscher Museum
- Rebecca M. McLain, Executive Director of the Oneida County History Center

The Commissioner also recommends the following appointment renewals:

- Jan Ramirez, Chief Curator of the National September 11 Memorial Museum
- Joe Lin-Hill, Deputy Director of the Albright-Knox Art Gallery
- Gretchen Sorin, Director and Distinguished Professor at the Cooperstown Graduate Program for Museum Studies

Timetable for Implementation

If approved by the Board of Regents, the appointments of Erika Floreska, Steve Dubnik, Rocky Bucano, Heather Arnet, and Rebecca M. McLain will be effective immediately and will expire in December 2028. The appointment renewals of Jan Ramirez, Joe Lin-Hill and Gretchen Sorin will be effective immediately and will expire in December 2028.