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SUMMARY 

Issue for Decision (Consent) 

Should the Board of Regents adopt the proposed amendments to Sections 156.1, 
156.2, 156.3, 156.4, 156.5, and 156.12 of the Commissioner’s Regulations relating to pupil 
transportation? 

Reason(s) for Consideration 

Review of policy. 

Proposed Handling 

The proposed amendment will be presented to the Full Board for emergency adoption 
at its June 2020 meeting. A copy of the proposed rule is included as Attachment A, and a 
Statement of Facts and Circumstances which necessitate emergency action is included as 
Attachment C. 

Procedural History 

A Notice of Proposed Rulemaking was published in the State Register on December 
24, 2019. Following the 60-day public comment period required under the State 
Administrative Procedure Act, the Department received two comments on the proposed 
amendment, included as Attachment B. The Department revised the proposed amendment 
in response to public comment and to provide flexibility for certain regulatory requirements 
in response to the COVID-19 crisis. A Notice of Emergency Adoption and Revised Rule 
Making was published in the State Register on April 22, 2020. The Department has not 
received any comments on the revised proposed rule to date. Supporting materials are 
available upon request from the Secretary to the Board of Regents. 
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Background Information 

 
The Department proposes updating the regulations pertaining to pupil transportation, 

as set forth in Part 156 of the Commissioner’s Regulations, to align to the current policies 
and procedures of the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles and the New York 
State Department of Transportation. In addition to technical amendments, the proposed 
amendments make the following changes: 

 

• Allows transportation contracts to be filed with the Commissioner within 120 days 
of approval of the contract by the board to align with the current practice 
(regulations were outdated and required 30 days). Contracts which cannot be 
awarded by August 1 shall be filed with the Commissioner within 5 days after 
approval with a written explanation for the delay. 

• Elimination of installation of stop arms from the list of demonstrable 
enhancements in pupil safety since this is now mandatory equipment. 

• Clarifies that standing passengers shall not be permitted on a school bus unless 
it is during the first 10 days of school or due to a breakdown, crash or other 
unforeseen occurrence to be consistent with Education Law §3635-c. 

• Clarifies the definition of school bus driver to mean any person who drives a 
school bus to or from school or school activities. 

• Clarifies the definition of a school bus attendant to mean any person who is 
employed for the purpose of attending to the special needs of a child based on 
his or her individualized education program (IEP) to safely embark and disembark 
from a school bus which is owned, leased or contracted for by a public school 
district or BOCES, and for the purpose of assisting the school bus driver. 

• Adds a new definition for regular route to mean any trip that occurs on a regular 
schedule for the purpose of transporting students from a starting point to a 
destination and may include pick up and drop off of students enroute (home to 
school). 

• Adds physician assistants to the list of licensed professions that can perform an 
examination of school bus drivers. Requires school bus drivers to be examined 
within eight weeks prior to the beginning of service (was previously four weeks). 

• Requires the school bus driver physical performance test form to be submitted 
electronically to the pupil transportation unit. Prohibits the interval between 
physical performance tests to exceed 25 months (was previously 24 months). 
Clarifies that the physical performance test shall be conducted by a currently 
certified school bus driver instructor and aligns the proposed amendment with 
current practice relating to the test. Provides that no more than one re-examination 
per driver may be administered on the same day and that the administration of 
the test and the pass/fail determination shall be in accordance with the guidance 
from the Department. Removes old provisions which allowed additional time for 
districts to acquire a school bus driver instructor to perform the physical 
performance test. 

• Clarifies the three types of school bus driver training: pre-service safety training, 
basic course safety training, and refresher safety training. Requires school bus 
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drivers to have at least four hours (was previously two) of instruction on school 
bus safety practices which shall include at least one hour of training for the 
transport of children with disabilities prior to service. Requires school bus drivers 
to take 30 hours of basic course safety training and necessitates the required two-
hour refresher training to contain at least one hour of instruction relating to the 
special needs of a pupil with a disability. 

• Provides that a certified school bus driver instructor’s physical presence is not 
required during the pre-service training of school bus drivers, monitors, or 
attendants, provided that such training is conducted under the general supervision 
of such an approved school bus driver instructor. 

• Provides that the school bus driver instructor advisory committee members are to 
be appointed for a three-year term (was previously annually) and requires them 
to be of good moral character. 

• Provides for when a certified school bus driver instructor’s certification can be 
suspended or revoked by the Department. 

• Includes what master instructors must do to maintain certification as a master 
instructor and provides for when a master instructor’s certification can be 
suspended or revoked by the Department. 

• Adds physician assistants to the list of licensed professions that can perform an 
examination of school bus monitors and attendants and requires school bus 
monitors and attendants to be examined within eight weeks prior to the beginning 
of service (was previously two weeks). 

• Requires the school bus monitor and attendant physical performance test form to 
be submitted electronically to the pupil transportation unit. Prohibits the interval 
between physical performance tests to exceed 25 months (was previously 24 
months). Clarifies that the physical performance test shall be conducted by a 
currently certified school bus driver instructor and makes amendments to such 
test to conform with current practice. Removes the temporary waiver provision for 
the physical performance test for monitors and attendants. Provides that no more 
than one re-examination per driver may be administered on the same day and 
that the administration of the test and the pass/fail determination shall be in 
accordance with the guidance from the Department. 

• Adds nonpublic schools to the list of employers whose employees serving pupils 
with a disabling condition must maintain CPR certification where such skills are 
required as part of the student’s IEP. 

• Clarifies the three types of school bus monitor and attendant training: pre-service 
safety training, basic course safety training, and refresher safety training. 
Requires at least four hours of pre-service training (was previously three hours). 
Requires a minimum of two hours of refresher training at least two times a year 
and requires that such refresher training include at least one hour of instruction 
relating to the special needs of a pupil with a disability. 

• Requires school bus drivers to instruct pupils to cross the highway at a distance 
of at least 15 feet in front of the vehicle (was previously 10 feet) and to keep the 
school bus halted until they have reached the opposite side of the highway, street 
or private road and until such passengers are at least 15 feet from the bus and 
either off the highway, street or private road or on a sidewalk. Additionally, 
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requires school bus drills to include specific instructions for pupils to advance at 
least 15 feet in front of the school bus before crossing a highway, rather than 10 
feet. 

• Adds the regulations of the Commissioner of the Department of Transportation to 
the list of regulations with which school bus drivers shall be familiar. 

• Includes “exempt tracks” to the list of exceptions to when school bus drivers are 
required to make full stops. 

• Clarifies that the operation of a wheelchair lift shall not be considered as leaving 
a bus unattended. 

• Prohibits the use of electronic cigarettes by drivers, monitors, and attendants while 
on a school bus. 

• Provides that the administration of drills on school buses shall be in accordance 
with the Department’s Bus Safety Drill Guide and Compliance Form and provides 
that verbal bus mini safety drills should be conducted by a school bus driver prior 
to the beginning of every sports or activity trip. 

• Requires school districts, which procure transportation through contracted 
vendors using an RFP, to set a minimum passing score threshold prior to 
evaluating RFPs, much as the State does in its grant applications, to ensure that 
winning bidders meet certain safety and responsibility standards. 

 
Additionally, in order to provide flexibility for certain regulatory requirements relating 

to pupil transportation in response to the COVID-19 crisis, the proposed amendments make 
the following changes: 

 

• The basic course of instruction in school bus safety required by section 156.3(b)(5)(ii) 
and 156.3(d)(5)(ii) and the refresher training instruction required in section 
156.3(b)(5)(iii) and 156.3(d)(5)(iii) may be postponed where a school bus driver, 
monitor, or attendant is unable to complete such instruction due to the State of 
emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-
19 crisis. Such instruction shall be rescheduled and completed as soon as 
practicable. 

• Section 156.3(c)(2)(i) is amended to permit school bus driver instructors to attend the 
annual professional development seminar (PDS) by teleconference or 
videoconference for the 2019-2020 school year due to the State of emergency 
declared by the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis. 

• Section 156.3(c)(3)(i) is amended to permit master instructor training programs to be 
provided by teleconference or videoconference for the 2019-2020 school year and to 
permit master instructors to attend the annual master instructor strategy meeting or 
PDS by teleconference or videoconference for the 2019-2020 school year due to the 
State of emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the 
COVID-19 crisis. 

• Section 156.3(g)(2) is amended to permit school bus drills to be postponed where 
such drills are unable to be conducted between March 1 and April 30 due to the State 
of emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the 
COVID-19 crisis. 
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Related Regents Items 
 

December 2019: Proposed Amendments to Sections 156.1, 156.2, 156.3, 156.4, 156.5, and 
156.12 of the Commissioner’s Regulations Relating to Pupil Transportation 
(https://www.regents.nysed.gov/common/regents/files/1219p12d1.pdf) 
 
April 2020: Proposed Amendments to Sections 156.1, 156.2, 156.3, 156.4, 156.5, and 
156.12 of the Commissioner’s Regulations Relating to Pupil Transportation 
(https://www.regents.nysed.gov/common/regents/files/420bra5.pdf) 
 
Recommendation 
 

It is recommended that the Board of Regents take the following action: 
 
VOTED: That sections 156.1, 156.2, 156.3, 156.4, 156.5, and 156.12 of the 

Commissioner’s Regulations be amended, as submitted, as an emergency measure, 
effective July 6, 2020, upon a finding by the Board of Regents that such action is necessary 
for the preservation of public health and the general welfare in order to immediately provide 
flexibility for certain regulatory requirements relating to pupil transportation in response to 
the COVID-19 crisis and to ensure that the emergency action taken at the April meeting 
remains in effect until the proposed rule can be permanently adopted. 
 
Timetable for Implementation 

 
If adopted at the June 2020 Regents meeting, the proposed amendment will become 

effective as an emergency rule on July 6, 2020. It is anticipated that the revised proposed 
amendment will be presented for permanent adoption at the July 2020 Regents meeting, 
after publication of the revised proposed amendment in the State Register and expiration of 
the 45-day public comment period required under the State Administrative Procedure Act 
for revised rulemaking. If adopted at the July 2020 meeting, the revised proposed rule will 
become effective on July 29, 2020. 
  

https://www.regents.nysed.gov/common/regents/files/1219p12d1.pdf
https://www.regents.nysed.gov/common/regents/files/1219p12d1.pdf
https://www.regents.nysed.gov/common/regents/files/420bra5.pdf
https://www.regents.nysed.gov/common/regents/files/420bra5.pdf
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ATTCHMENT A 

AMENDMENT TO THE REGULATION OF THE COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION 

 Pursuant to Education Law sections, 101, 207, 305(14)(d), 1604(23), 1709, 

3602(7)(a)-(b), (d), 3624, 3625, 3635(4), 3637 and Vehicle and Traffic Law sections 509-g 

and 1229-d 

 1. Section 156.1 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended 

to read as follows:  

156.1 Applications, contracts, and other information to be filed.  

(a) Application for the approval of all bus routes and bus capacities, together with 

transportation contracts, including contracts for the operation of district-owned 

conveyances and all contracts for the maintenance and/or garaging of district-owned 

conveyances shall be filed by the superintendent or district superintendent of schools with 

the Commissioner of Education on forms [prescribed] approved by him or her. In addition 

thereto, such superintendent or district superintendent of schools shall file with the 

commissioner the instructions to bidders, bid forms and specifications upon which such 

contracts were awarded, a summary of bids submitted, a statement of the actions taken to 

solicit bids, including copies of the advertising required by law, any additional advertising, a 

list of the potential bidders actively solicited, and such other information as the 

commissioner may require. 

(b) The advertisement for bids for contracts for anticipated transportation needs for 

the following school year shall be published not later than June 1st, except that the 

advertisement for bids for contracts for transportation of children with disabilities shall be 

published not later than July 1st. Any contract awarded as a result of competitive bidding, 
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together with the documents required by the provisions of subdivision (a) of this section, 

shall be filed with the Commissioner of Education within [30] 120 days following approval 

of the contract by the board of education or trustee. Contracts which cannot be awarded 

on or before August 1st, together with other required documents, shall be filed with the 

commissioner within five days after approval by the board of education or trustee along 

with a written explanation for the delay. 

(c)…  

(d)…  

(e)… 

(f) A board of education or the trustee of a public school district and a contractor 

shall not materially modify an approved transportation contract except where such 

modification is necessary to comply with any Federal, State or local law, rule or regulation 

imposed after the execution of such contract or to enhance pupil safety and/or result in 

savings consistent with maintaining pupil safety. The school district shall provide 

satisfactory documentation to the commissioner of the enhancements in pupil safety 

and/or of any increased savings consistent with maintaining pupil safety that may result 

from the proposed amendment. Demonstrable enhancements in pupil safety shall include, 

but not be limited to: [installation of stop arms,] two-way radios or other communication 

devices, video cameras, and perimeter motion detector systems. Such amendments shall 

result in no additional cost to the State, locality, or school district. Amendments will not be 

approved if the commissioner determines that they violate competitive bidding 

requirements, violate any provision of law, or fail to increase or maintain the safety of pupil 

transportation. 
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 2. Section 156.2 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended 

to read as follows:  

156.2 Approval of routes, seating capacities, and computerized bus routing services 

for State aid purposes. 

(a) …  

(b) Approved seating capacity. The approved seating capacities shall be determined 

on the basis of the number of pupils legally entitled to transportation; provided, however, 

that no district shall be required to obtain another conveyance when the originally 

approved capacity is no longer required. Standing passengers shall not be [carried in 

excess of 20 percent of the seated capacity] permitted unless it is during the first 10 days 

of school, or unless it is due to a breakdown, crash or another unforeseen occurrence. 

(c) Duplication of service. The Commissioner of Education may disallow capacities 

and mileage which in his or her judgment are duplication of service and inconsistent with 

maximum efficiency. Bus routes shall be so arranged that the maximum number of pupils 

entitled to transportation can be transported with the minimum number of bus miles and for 

a cost consistent with adequate service. 

(d) ...  

(e) … 

 3. Section 156.3 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended 

to read as follows:  

156.3 Safety regulations for school bus drivers, monitors, attendants and pupils. 

(a) Definitions. For purposes of this section: 



9 

(1) A school bus driver shall mean any person who drives a school bus which is 

owned, leased or contracted for by a public school district, board of cooperative 

educational services or nonpublic school for the purpose of transporting pupils to or from 

school or school activities. However, for the purposes of this section, the following shall not 

be considered to be school bus drivers: 

(i) … 

(ii)… 

(iii)… 

(iv) a volunteer driver for a nonpublic school who transports pupils on other than a 

regularly established route on an [occasional] infrequent basis. 

(2)…  

(3)…  

(4) A school bus attendant shall mean any person who is employed for the purpose 

of [serving pupils with a disabling condition on] attending to the special needs of a child 

based on his or her Individual Education Plan (IEP), to safely embark and disembark from 

a school bus which is owned, leased or contracts for by a public school district of board of 

cooperative educational services, and for the purpose of assisting the school bus driver. 

(5)… 

(6) A regular route shall mean any trip that occurs on a regular schedule, for the 

purpose of transporting students from a starting point to a destination and may include pick 

up and drop off of students enroute, (i.e. home to school.) 

(b) School bus driver [and instructor qualifications]. 
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(1) Approval for employment. Approval for employment of a school bus driver shall 

be in writing on a form [prescribed] approved by the Commissioner of Education. 

(2)…  

(3) Physical fitness. 

(i) Each driver of a school transportation conveyance shall have the physical and 

mental ability to operate safely a school transportation conveyance and to satisfactorily 

perform the other responsibilities of a school bus driver; and shall meet the requirements 

of section [6.11] 6.10 of the regulations of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles (15 

NYCRR [6.1111] 6.10) to the extent that such requirements are consistent with the 

requirements of this subdivision and provided that the vision standards prescribed in 

section [6.11(b)(10)] 6.10(b)(9) of the regulations of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles 

(15 NYCRR) shall not be waived. 

(ii) Each [regular or substitute] driver of a school bus owned, leased or contracted 

for by a school district, board of cooperative educational services or a nonpublic school 

shall be examined by a physician [or], physician assistant, or nurse practitioner to the 

extent authorized by law and consistent with the written practice agreement pursuant to 

Education Law, section 6902(3), in accordance with the provisions of this subdivision. The 

physical examination shall be reported immediately on forms [prescribed] approved by the 

commissioner to the chief school officer of the district. The physical examination shall 

include, as a minimum, those requirements specified on the [prescribed] approved physical 

examination report. The examining physician [or], physician assistant, or nurse practitioner 

shall require the school bus driver to undergo any diagnostic tests that are necessary to 

determine whether the driver has the physical and mental ability to operate safely a school 
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transportation conveyance. Each school bus driver shall receive an annual physical 

examination, and each driver who is to be initially employed shall be examined within [four] 

eight weeks prior to the beginning of service. In no case shall the interval between physical 

examinations exceed a 13-month period. 

(iii) Each [regular or substitute] driver of a school bus owned, leased or contracted 

for by a school district, board of cooperative educational services or nonpublic school shall 

pass a physical performance test approved by the commissioner, upon recommendation of 

an advisory group of certified school bus driver instructors, prior to transporting students, 

and at least once every two years. Upon completion, the physical performance test form is 

to be submitted electronically to the pupil transportation unit. Additionally, the test shall be 

administered to any driver following [an absence from service of] a period of being 

unavailable for service for 60 or more consecutive days from his or her scheduled work 

duties. In no case shall the interval between physical performance tests exceed [24] 25 

months. Provided, however, where a school bus driver is unable to complete such physical 

performance test within the timelines prescribed in this subparagraph due to the State of 

emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-19 

crisis, such test shall be completed as soon as practicable. 

(a) [Except as provided in clause (d) of this subparagraph, the] The physical 

performance test shall be conducted by a currently certified school bus driver instructor 

and shall assess the driver/applicant's ability to perform the following functions of a school 

bus driver: [repeatedly open and close a manually operated bus entrance door,] climb and 

descend bus steps, have quick reaction time from throttle to brake, repeatedly depress 

clutch and/or brake pedals, manually operate (open and close) the bus service door, 
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operate hand controls simultaneously [and] while driving a moving bus, quickly[, have 

quick reaction time from throttle to break, carry or drag individuals in a bus emergency 

evacuation, repeatedly depress clutch and/or brake pedals, and exit quickly oneself and 

students from an emergency door] evacuate oneself from a rear most floor level 

emergency door, and demonstrate the ability to evacuate individuals in a bus emergency. 

(b) A driver/applicant who fails any portion of the physical performance test shall be 

deemed unqualified to operate a school transportation conveyance with passengers until a 

re-examination is passed. Such driver/applicant may request re-examination [which shall 

be administered no sooner than three days from the prior test]. No more than one re-

examination per driver may be administered on the same day. The cost of such re-

examination shall be borne by the employer if the driver/applicant passes the re-

examination, or the driver/ applicant if he or she fails the re-examination. The 

administration of the test and the pass/fail determination shall be in accordance with the 

guidance from the New York State Education Department. 

[(c)(1) A school bus driver who is employed by a school district, board of 

cooperative educational services, or contractor as of September 1, 1997 shall have until 

July 1, 2000 to take and pass the driver physical performance test. All drivers hired by 

school districts, boards of cooperative educational services, or contractors after September 

1, 1997 shall be required to pass the driver physical performance test before they may 

transport pupils. 

(2) A school bus driver who is employed by a nonpublic school as of January 1, 

2005 shall have until January 1, 2008 to take and pass the driver physical performance 
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test. All drivers hired by nonpublic schools after January 1, 2005 shall be required to pass 

the driver physical performance test before they may transport pupils. 

(d) School districts, boards of cooperative educational services, nonpublic schools 

or transportation contractors may apply to the commissioner for a temporary waiver to 

permit Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) certified 19A examiners, employed by that 

carrier, to administer the physical performance test to school bus drivers employed by that 

carrier. Such waiver may be granted where it is established that there are insufficient 

certified school bus driver instructors on staff to administer the test in a timely manner. 

Upon the issuance of such waiver, a certified school bus driver instructor's physical 

presence shall not be required during the administration of the test, provided that such 

testing is conducted under the general supervision of a certified school bus driver 

instructor who is employed by such board of education, board of cooperative educational 

services, nonpublic school or transportation contractor. Such certified school bus driver 

instructor shall instruct the DMV certified 19A examiner in the proper administration of the 

physical performance test and shall review and approve the test results of all physical 

performance tests administered by the examiner.] 

(4) Required licenses and certification. Each driver of a motor vehicle conveying 

school children shall have the appropriate [operator's or commercial] driver's license to 

operate such motor vehicle. 

(5) Pre-service[,] safety training, basic course safety training, and refresher safety 

training for school bus drivers. 

(i) Pre-service safety training. [Each] Prior to transporting students, each school bus 

driver initially employed by a board of education or transportation contractor subsequent to 
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July 1, 1973, or initially employed by a nonpublic school on or after July 1, 2004, shall have 

received at least [two] four hours of instruction on school bus safety practices which shall 

include at least one hour of training for the transport of children with disabilities. [Each 

driver of a vehicle transporting pupils with disabilities exclusively who is initially employed 

subsequent to January 1, 1976, or initially employed on or after July 1, 2004 for nonpublic 

school bus drivers, shall have received an additional hour of instruction concerning the 

special needs of a pupil with a disability.] 

(ii) [(a)] Basic course safety training. During the first year of employment, each 

school bus driver initially employed by a board of education, board of cooperative 

educational services or transportation contractor subsequent to July 1, 1973 [shall 

complete a basic course of instruction in school bus safety practices approved by the 

commissioner, which shall include two hours of instruction concerning the special needs of 

a pupil with a disability. 

(b) During the first year of employment, each school bus driver initially] or employed 

by a nonpublic school on or after July 1, 2005 shall complete a basic course of instruction 

in school bus safety practices approved by the commissioner, which shall [include] not be 

less than 30 hours of instruction, and at least two hours [of] shall be instruction concerning 

the special needs transportation of a pupil with a disability. [Each school bus driver initially 

employed by a nonpublic school on or after July 1, 2004 and on or before June 30, 2005, 

shall complete such course within the first two years of such employment.] Provided, 

however, that such instruction may be postponed where a school bus driver is unable to 

complete such instruction due to the State of emergency declared by the Governor 
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pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis. Such instruction shall be 

rescheduled and completed as soon as practicable.  

(iii) Refresher training. All school bus drivers shall receive a minimum of two hours 

of refresher instruction in school bus safety at least two times a year, at sessions 

conducted between July 1st and October 31st and between December 1st and May 1st of 

each school year[. Refresher courses for drivers of vehicles transporting pupils with 

disabilities exclusively shall also include] and shall include at least one hour of instruction 

relating to the special needs of a pupil with a disability in accordance with the requirements 

set forth under Education Law section 3650(2). Provided, however, that such refresher 

instruction may be postponed where a school bus driver is unable to complete such 

instruction due to the State of emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an 

Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis. Such instruction shall be rescheduled and 

completed as soon as practicable. 

(iv) Occasional drivers. Occasional drivers for other than regular routes shall not be 

required to receive the training specified in this paragraph. For the purposes of this 

paragraph, occasional driver shall mean a certified teacher who is employed by a public 

school district or a board of cooperative educational services, [who is not primarily 

employed on] whose employment does not include serving as either a [full-time or part-

time basis as a] regular or substitute school bus driver. 

(6) Character requirement. The driver of a vehicle for the transportation of school 

children shall be of good moral character and thoroughly reliable. At the time of initial 

application and at such other times as the superintendent of schools, district 

superintendent of schools, or public or nonpublic school chief administrator may 
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determine, each applicant for approval for employment as a school bus driver shall furnish 

to the superintendent or administrator at least three statements from three different 

persons who are not related either by blood or marriage to the applicant pertaining to the 

moral character and to the reliability of the applicant. Each driver of a vehicle that 

transports school children shall be approved by the district superintendent or school 

administrator annually, attesting to their moral character and compliance with this 

subdivision. 

[(v)] (c) Instructor qualifications. (1) [Except as otherwise provided in clauses (a) 

and (b) of this subparagraph, all] All driver, monitor, and attendant training required [in this 

subdivision] by subparagraphs (ii) and (iii) of paragraph (5) of subdivisions (b) and (d) of 

this section shall be provided by, or under the direct supervision of a school bus driver 

instructor (SBDI) certified by the commissioner. A certified school bus driver instructor’s 

physical presence shall not be required during the pre-service safety training of a school 

bus driver, monitor, or attendant employed by a board of education, board of cooperative 

educational services or transportation contractor, provided that such training is conducted 

under the general supervision of such an approved school bus driver instructor. 

(2) (i) To qualify for certification as a school bus driver instructor (SBDI), individuals 

shall successfully complete a school bus driver instructor training and evaluation course 

taught by a certified master instructor. The course shall be approved by the commissioner 

upon the recommendation of the master instructor subcommittee of the commissioner's 

school bus driver instructor advisory committee, an advisory group consisting of at least 

seven certified school bus driver instructors appointed [annually] for a three-year term, for 

such purpose by the commissioner. Each person who applies for admission to this course 
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shall be currently employed by a public school district, board of cooperative educational 

services, nonpublic school or private contractor who is currently providing pupil 

transportation services for a public school district, nonpublic school or board of cooperative 

educational services, and be of good moral character. The SBDI course shall include but 

shall not be limited to the following content areas: planning and making presentations 

including lesson plans and objectives, school bus accident statistics and interpretation, 

effective communications, and evaluation. Each such person shall possess a high school 

diploma or equivalent diploma and shall have completed the school bus driver Basic 

Course of Instruction in school bus safety practices. In addition, each such person shall 

have completed the Advanced [New York State] School Bus Driver Training Course or a 

Department of Motor Vehicles approved Point/Insurance Reduction Program. To maintain 

certification, school bus driver instructors shall be required to attend the annual 

Professional Development Seminar (PDS) approved by the Commissioner upon the 

recommendation of the master instructor subcommittee of the SBDI Advisory Committee 

and taught by a certified master instructor. The PDS shall provide refresher training for all 

SBDIs in presentation skills, lesson planning, school bus safety techniques, requirements 

and statistics. The PDS shall provide SBDIs with training materials for the upcoming 

school year safety training campaign, including information which shall be conveyed to all 

school bus drivers in the next two driver refreshers. Provided, however, that school bus 

driver instructors shall be permitted to attend the annual PDS by teleconference or 

videoconference for the 2019-2020 school year due to the State of emergency declared by 

the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis. 
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[(a)] (ii) A certified school bus driver instructor's [physical presence shall not be 

required during training conducted upon initial employment of a school bus driver by a 

board of education, board of cooperative educational services or transportation contractor, 

provided that such training is conducted under the general supervision of such an 

approved instructor] certification can be suspended by the State Education Department 

based upon failure to attend a professional development seminar and/or failure to 

successfully complete an approved hardship assignment. Following notice and an 

opportunity to be heard, certification may be revoked based upon a proven violation of the 

State Education Department’s SBDI Ethical Guidelines and/or a finding by the master 

instructor subcommittee of the commissioner’s SBDI advisory committee of incompetence, 

malfeasance, misfeasance, nonfeasance, or misrepresentation. 

([vi)] (3)(i) Master instructors (MI) shall be certified by the commissioner to conduct 

training programs for individuals to become certified school bus driver instructors, and 

work in the development of safety training curricula including the development and delivery 

of the annual Professional Development Seminar. To qualify as a master instructor an 

individual must have been a certified school bus driver instructor for at least five years, 

have demonstrated the ability to teach others the concepts of the school bus safety 

training program, be of good moral character and meet such other requirements as may be 

prescribed by the commissioner including, but not limited to: possession of a New York 

State teaching certificate or employment experience in a pupil transportation position in 

NYS, and satisfactory completion of a mentor/training program or project. Training 

programs conducted by master instructors may be provided by teleconference or 

videoconference for the 2019-2020 school year due to the State of emergency declared by 
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the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis. To maintain 

certification the master instructor shall be required to attend the annual master instructor 

strategy meeting or attend a professional development seminar (PDS) approved by the 

commissioner upon the recommendation of the master instructor committee of the SBDI 

advisory committee and taught by a certified master instructor. Master instructors shall be 

permitted to attend the annual master instructor strategy meeting or attend a PDS by 

teleconference or videoconference for the 2019-2020 school year due to the State of 

emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-19 

crisis.  

(ii) A certified master instructor’s certification can be suspended by the New York 

State Education Department based upon failure to attend the annual master instructor 

strategy meeting or a professional development seminar and/or failure to successfully 

complete an approved hardship assignment. Following notice and an opportunity to be 

heard, certification may be revoked based upon a proven violation of the New York State 

Education Department’s MI Ethical Guidelines and/or a finding by the master instructor 

subcommittee of the commissioner’s SBDI advisory committee of incompetence, 

malfeasance, misfeasance, nonfeasance or misrepresentation. 

[(6) Character requirement. The driver of a vehicle for the transportation of school 

children shall be of good moral character and thoroughly reliable. At the time of initial 

application and at such other times as the superintendent of schools, district 

superintendent of schools, or nonpublic school chief administrator may determine, each 

applicant for approval for employment as a school bus driver shall furnish to the 

superintendent or administrator at least three statements from three different persons who 
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are not related either by blood or marriage to the applicant pertaining to the moral 

character and to the reliability of the applicant. 

(c)] (d) School bus monitor and attendant qualifications. 

(1) Approval for employment. Approval for employment as a school bus monitor or 

attendant shall be in writing on a form [prescribed] approved by the Commissioner of 

Education. 

(2)… 

(3)…  

(i)…  

(ii) Each monitor or attendant may be examined on order of the chief school 

administrator by a duly licensed physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner within 

[two] eight weeks prior to the beginning of such monitor's or attendant's service in each 

school year. The report of the physician, physician assistant, or nurse practitioner in 

writing, shall be considered by the chief school administrator in determining the fitness of 

the monitor or attendant to carry out his or her functions. The examining physician, 

physician assistant, or nurse practitioner shall require the monitor or attendant to undergo 

any diagnostic tests that are necessary to determine the physical and mental ability of the 

monitor or attendant to perform his or her duties. 

(iii) Each school bus monitor or attendant of a school bus owned, leased or 

contracted for by a school district or board of cooperative educational services shall pass a 

physical performance test approved by the commissioner, upon recommendation of an 

advisory group of certified school bus driver instructors, prior to transporting students, and 

at least once every two years. Upon completion, the physical performance test form is to 
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be submitted electronically to the pupil transportation unit. Additionally, the test shall be 

administered to any monitor or attendant following [an absence from service] a period of 

being unavailable for service for 60 or more consecutive days from his or her schedule 

work duties. In no case shall the interval between physical performance tests exceed [24] 

25 months. Individuals employed by a school district, board of cooperative educational 

services or contractor as a monitor or attendant on July 1, 2003 shall have until July 1, 

2004 to take and pass a physical performance test. Individuals hired as a monitor or 

attendant after July 1, 2003, must take and pass a physical performance test before they 

may assume their duties. Provided, however, where a school bus monitor or attendant is 

unable to complete such physical performance test within the timelines prescribed in this 

subparagraph due to the State of emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an 

Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis, such test shall be completed as soon as 

practicable. 

(a) [Except as provided in clause (b) of this subparagraph, the] The physical 

performance test shall be administered by a currently certified school bus driver instructor 

and shall assess the school bus monitor or attendant's ability to perform his or her duties 

including, but not limited to, the following functions: climb and descend the bus steps, 

[carry or drag students in a bus emergency evacuation, and exit quickly oneself from an 

emergency door] manually operate (open and close) the service door, quickly evacuate 

oneself from a rear most floor level emergency door, and demonstrate the ability to 

evacuate individuals in a bus emergency. 

 (b) [School districts, boards of cooperative educational services, or transportation 

contractors may apply to the commissioner for a temporary waiver to permit Department of 
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Motor Vehicles (DMV) Certified 19A Examiners, employed by that carrier, to administer the 

physical performance test to monitors and attendants employed by that carrier. Such 

waiver may be granted where it is established that there are insufficient certified school 

bus driver instructors on staff to administer the test in a timely manner. Upon the issuance 

of such waiver, a certified school bus driver instructor's physical presence shall not be 

required during the administration of the test, provided that such testing is conducted 

under the general supervision of a certified school bus driver instructor who is employed by 

such board of education, board of cooperative educational services or transportation 

contractor. Such SBDI shall instruct the DMV Certified 19A Examiner in the proper 

administration of the physical performance test and shall review and approve the test 

results of all physical performance tests administered by the examiner. 

(c)] A school bus monitor or attendant who fails any portion of the physical 

performance test shall be deemed unqualified to perform the duties of that position. The 

monitor or attendant may request a re-examination. No more than one re-examination per 

monitor or attendant may be administered on the same day. The cost of such re-

examination shall be borne by the employer if the monitor/attendant passes the re-

examination, or by the monitor/attendant if he or she fails the re-examination. The 

administration of the test and the pass/fail determination shall be in accordance with the 

guidance from the New York State Education Department. 

(4) Required certifications. Any person employed by a school district, board of 

cooperative educational services, nonpublic school or pupil transportation contractor as a 

school bus attendant serving pupils with a disabling condition [on January 1, 2004, shall 

have until July 1, 2004 to obtain training and certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
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where such skills are required as part of the individualized education plan prepared for the 

student. Any such person hired after January 1, 2004] shall, prior to assuming their duties 

as a school bus attendant, obtain training and maintain certification in cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR) where such skills are required as part of the individualized education 

plan (IEP) prepared for the student. school districts, boards of cooperative educational 

services, nonpublic schools or contractors may require monitors or attendants to maintain 

certification in first aid. 

(5) Pre-service[,] safety training, basic course safety training and refresher safety 

training for monitors and attendants. Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, each 

school bus monitor or attendant employed by a board of education, board of cooperative 

educational services or pupil transportation contractor on July 1, 2003 shall comply with 

the training requirements of this paragraph no later than July 1, 2004. Individuals hired 

after July 1, 2003 shall comply with such requirements before assuming their duties on a 

school bus. 

(i) Pre-service [instruction] safety training. [All] Prior to transporting students, each 

school bus [monitors] monitor or [attendants] attendant shall receive [three] at least four 

hours of pre-service instruction as [prescribed] approved by the commissioner upon 

recommendation of the master instructor subcommittee of the commissioner's school bus 

driver instructor advisory committee, which shall include, but is not limited to, school bus 

safety practices, child management techniques, and the proper techniques for assisting 

children to safely embark and disembark a school bus. In addition to such instruction, any 

person employed on January 1, 2004 as a school bus monitor, or as a school bus 

attendant serving pupils with a disabling condition, shall, by July 1, 2004, receive 
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instruction as [prescribed] approved by the commissioner upon recommendation of the 

master instructor subcommittee of the commissioner's school bus driver instructor advisory 

committee relating to special needs transportation, including, but not limited to, the proper 

techniques for assisting disabled students in entering and exiting the school bus. Any 

person hired after January 1, 2004 shall complete such special needs instruction prior to 

assuming their duties as a school bus monitor or as a school bus attendant. 

(ii) [A certified school bus driver instructor's physical presence shall not be required 

during training conducted upon initial employment of a school bus monitor or attendant by 

a board of education or transportation contractor, provided that such training is conducted 

under the general supervision of such certified instructor. 

(iii) Specialized] Basic course safety training. Each school bus monitor or attendant 

hired after July 1, 2003 shall complete within their first year of employment Basic Course of 

Instruction for Monitors and Attendants. Multiple curricula may be approved for use by the 

commissioner. Such courses shall provide not less than 10 hours of instruction on a range 

of topics [prescribed] approved by the commissioner upon recommendation of the master 

instructor subcommittee of the commissioner's school bus driver instructor advisory 

committee. Provided, however, that such instruction may be postponed where a school 

bus monitor or attendant is unable to complete such instruction due to the State of 

emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an Executive Order for the COVID-19 

crisis. Such instruction shall be rescheduled and completed as soon as practicable. 

[(iv)] (iii) Refresher training. All school bus monitors and attendants shall receive [2 

two-hour refresher training sessions annually] a minimum of two hours of refresher 

instruction in school bus safety at least two times a year, at sessions conducted between 
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July 1st and [the first day of school] October 31st and between December 1st and [March] 

May 1st of each school year and shall include at least one hour of instruction relating to the 

special needs of a pupil with a disability in accordance with the requirements set forth 

under Education Law section 36509(2). Provided, however, that such refresher instruction 

may be postponed where a school bus monitor or attendant is unable to complete such 

instruction due to the State of emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an 

Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis. Such instruction shall be rescheduled and 

completed as soon as practicable. 

(6) Character requirement. The monitor or attendant of a vehicle that is used for the 

transportation of school children shall be of good moral character and thoroughly reliable. 

At the time of initial application and at such other times as the superintendent of schools, 

district superintendent of schools, or public or nonpublic school chief administrator may 

determine, each applicant for approval for employment as a school bus monitor or 

attendant shall furnish to the superintendent or administrator at least three statements from 

three different persons who are not related either by blood or marriage to the applicant 

pertaining to the moral character and to the reliability of the applicant. Each monitor or 

attendant of a vehicle that transports school children shall be approved by the district 

superintendent of school administrator annually, attesting to their moral character and 

compliance with this subdivision. 

[(d)] (e) Rules affecting pupils.  

(1)…  

(2)… 

(3)… 
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(4) The driver of a school bus, when discharging pupils who must cross the 

highway, shall instruct such pupils to cross the highway at a distance of [10] at least 15 

feet in front of the vehicle so as to be in the vision of the driver. The driver shall also keep 

such school bus halted with red signal lights flashing until such pupils have reached the 

opposite side of the highway, street or private road and until such passengers are at least 

fifteen feet from the bus and either off the highway, street or private road or on a sidewalk. 

(5)…  

[(e)] (f) Driving rules.  

(1) Drivers shall be familiar with the Vehicle and Traffic Law, regulations of the 

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles, regulations of the Commissioner of the Department of 

Transportation and regulations of the Commissioner of Education pertaining to pupil 

transportation. 

(2) Drivers shall make a full stop at all railroad crossings and at State highways 

before crossing except that no stop need be made [at any railroad crossing] where a police 

officer or a traffic control signal or sign, such as “exempt tracks” which directs traffic to 

proceed. 

(3)… 

(4) Drivers, monitors and attendants shall not leave the school bus when children 

are inside except in case of emergency, and in such case before leaving the bus the driver 

shall stop the motor, remove the ignition key, and set the parking brake. For the purpose of 

this paragraph, the operation of a wheelchair lift shall not be considered as leaving the bus 

unattended. Monitors or attendants may leave the school bus for the purposes of assisting 

children to embark or disembark the vehicle and to safely cross the street. Drivers, 
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monitors, and attendants shall check the vehicle to [insure] ensure that no child is left 

behind on board unattended at the conclusion of the school bus route. 

(5) Drivers, monitors, and attendants shall not smoke or use electronic cigarettes at 

[anytime] any time while within a school bus. Drivers, monitors, and attendants shall not 

eat or drink any liquid, or perform any act or conduct themselves in any manner which may 

impair the safe operation of a school bus while such vehicle is transporting pupils. 

(6) Drivers shall not exceed a maximum speed limit of 55 miles per hour on any 

road within or outside of New York State while driving their school bus [is being used for 

the transportation of pupils] with passengers. 

[(f)] (g) Drills on school buses. (1) The drills on school buses required by section 

3623 of the Education Law shall include practice and instruction in the location, use and 

operation of the emergency [door] exits, fire extinguishers, first-aid equipment and 

windows as a means of escape in case of fire or accident. Drills shall also include 

instruction in safe boarding and exiting procedures with specific emphasis on when and 

how to approach, board, disembark, and move away from the bus after disembarking. 

Each drill shall include specific instructions for pupils to advance at least [10] 15 feet in 

front of the bus before crossing the highway after disembarking. Each drill shall emphasize 

specific hazards encountered by children during snow, ice, rain, and other inclement 

weather, including but not necessarily limited to poor driver visibility, reduced vehicular 

control and reduced hearing. All such drills shall include instruction in the importance of 

orderly conduct by all school bus passengers with specific emphasis given to student 

discipline rules and regulations promulgated by each board of education. Such instruction 

and the conduct of the drills shall be given by a member or members of the teaching or 
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pupil transportation staff. Pupils attending public and nonpublic schools who do not 

participate in the drills held pursuant to this paragraph shall also be provided drills on 

school buses, or as an alternative, shall be provided classroom instruction covering the 

content of such drills. The administration of the drills shall be in accordance with the New 

York State Education Department’s Bus Safety Drill Guide and Compliance Form. 

(2) A minimum of three such drills shall be held on each school bus during the 

school year, the first to be conducted during the first seven days of school, the second 

between November 1st and December 31st and the third between March 1st and April 30th. 

Provided, however, that where such drills are unable to be conducted between March 1st 

and April 30th due to the State of emergency declared by the Governor pursuant to an 

Executive Order for the COVID-19 crisis, such drill may be rescheduled and completed as 

soon as practicable. 

(3)…  

(4)…. 

(5) Verbal bus mini safety drills should be conducted by a school bus driver prior to 

the beginning of every sports or activity trip. The administration of the verbal bus mini 

safety drills shall be in accordance with the New York State Education Department’s Bus 

Mini Safety Drill Guide and Compliance Form. 

[(g)] (h) Instruction on use of seat belts. In each school district in which pupils are 

transported on school buses [equipped with seat safety belts], such district shall [insure] 

ensure that all pupils who are transported on any school bus owned, leased or contracted 

for by the district or board of cooperative educational services shall receive instruction on 

the use of seat safety belts. Such instruction shall be provided at least three times each 
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year to both public and nonpublic school pupils who are so transported and shall include, 

but not be limited to: 

(1)…  

(2) acceptable adjustment and placement of seat safety belts on pupils; 

(3)…  

(4).... 

[(h)] (i) Idling on school buses on school grounds. 

(1)… 

(i)…  

(ii) School districts [shall consider adopting] should adopt policies which provide for 

the prompt loading and unloading of individual school buses rather than a policy of waiting 

for all buses to arrive before loading or unloading, to minimize idling. 

(2)…  

(i)…  

(ii) to maintain an appropriate temperature for passenger comfort and/or safety; or 

(iii) in emergency evacuations and/or where necessary to operate wheelchair lifts. 

(3)…  

(i)…  

(ii)…  

(iii)… 

(4)…  

(5) … 

(6)…  
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4. Section 156.4 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended 

to read as follows:  

156.4 Bus purchase approval. The purchase by a school district of any bus to be 

used for the transportation of children shall be approved by the Commissioner of 

Education on forms prescribed by him or her. Every purchase agreement shall include the 

clause, “specifications subject to the approval of the Education Department.” All school 

buses must comply with the State Vehicle and Traffic Law and with rules and regulations 

of the State Department of Transportation. Transportation aid shall not be apportioned on 

the purchase cost or operating cost of a district-owned school bus unless the school 

district has obtained the required purchase approval by the commissioner. In no event 

shall the approval of a school bus purchase be granted where prescribed forms are filed 

with the State Education Department later than one year from the date on which the bus 

was purchased. The commissioner may excuse for good cause the failure of a district to 

request purchase approval within the prescribed period. 

5. Section 156.5 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended 

to read as follows:  

156.5 Annual extensions of transportation contracts. 

(a)…  

(b)…  

(c) Annual extensions of fixed-price contracts, contracts based upon unit rates, such 

as per- bus, per-pupil or per-mile, and contracts based upon a combination of a fixed price 

and unit rate may provide for increases in such fixed prices and/or unit rates not to exceed 
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the contractual amount paid in the preceding year by more than the increase in the 

regional consumer price index (CPI) for the 12-month period ending on May 31st 

immediately preceding the commencement of the contract extension. 

(d)…  

(e)…  

6. Subdivisions (c) and (d) of section 156.12 of the Regulations of the 

Commissioner of Education is amended to read as follows:  

(c) Any public notice soliciting proposals for transportation services, as well as any 

instructions provided to potential respondents to a request for proposals pursuant to this 

section, shall specify all of the criteria to be used in evaluating such proposals and shall 

specify the weightings that the board of education has assigned to each criterion for the 

purpose of evaluating proposals submitted in response to the request for proposals. For 

this purpose, no single criterion shall be weighted in excess of 50 percent of the total 

weight of all of the criteria to be used. In addition, the board of education shall establish a 

minimum score threshold which shall be required to accept proposals. 

(d) Each district awarding a contract through an evaluation of proposals shall submit 

such contract to the commissioner for approval pursuant to the provisions of Education 

Law, sections 305(14) and 3625, together with satisfactory evidence of the date of the 

request for such proposals, the forms and instructions used in making such request, the 

contract specifications, all proposals received, the criteria used in evaluating the proposals, 

the weights assigned to each criterion, the committee scores used to assess each 

category of the criteria, and such other information as the commissioner deems necessary 

for such approval.  
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Attachment B 

ASSESSMENT OF PUBLIC COMMENT 

Following publication of the Notice of Proposed Rule Making in the State Register 

on December 24, 2019, the Department received the following comments on the proposed 

amendment. These comments were previously published as part of the April 2020 board of 

Regents Item.  

 

1. COMMENT: A commenter who is an organization comprising of more than one hundred 

school transportation service companies writes in strong support of the proposed rule. The 

commenter states that as private pupil transportation providers, ensuring that every child 

reaches their destination safely, without incident, and on time is a responsibility they take 

very seriously. They note that the proposed regulatory changes further their ability to meet 

their goal of ensuring that schools have the ability to provide students with the safest 

transportation possible. The commenter states that one of the most notable changes in the 

proposed rule which is the “biggest win” for student safety is the proposal to require school 

districts, which procure transportation thorough contracted vendors using an RFP, to set a 

minimum passing score threshold prior to evaluating RFPs to ensure that winning bidders 

meet certain safety and responsibility standards. They write that “the requirement of setting 

a minimum passing score will undoubtably further assist the State in weeding out the bad 

actors who put profit over student safety.” The commenter recommends taking this 

provision further by requiring the RFP process for all contracts over $1 million dollars and 

requiring that accident history, experience, and safety programs be evaluated as part of 

the award process. 
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DEPARTMENT RESPONSE: The Department agrees with the commenter that the 

proposed rule will help ensure that schools have the ability to provide students with safe 

transportation. Regarding the comment relating to the RFP process, the Department 

believes it should be the school district’s decision whether they would like to use an RFP 

or collective bid. Therefore, no change is necessary. 

2. COMMENT: A commenter provided the following comments on the proposed rule: 

1 They note the change to increase pre-service training for school bus drivers from 2 

hours to 4 hours. They state that they understand the need and the value of 

increased training, however, they note that this is an additional expense for some 

operators and that this is a concern given the recent call to freeze State 

transportation aid to school districts. 

2 They suggest amending section 156.3(g) of the proposed rule to state that each drill 

on school buses shall include specific instructions for pupils to advance at least 15 

feet in front of the bus before crossing the highway after disembarking, rather than 

10 feet, which is consistent with the change made in section 156.3(e)(4). 

3 They suggest amending the new language section 156.12(c) to require the 

superintendent, rather than the board of education, to establish a minimum score 

threshold which shall be required to accept proposals. They note that this is an 

administration function, and it is the superintendent who is responsible for the day to 

day operations of the school district. In addition, they note that boards of education 

typically meet monthly, which would delay the request for proposal process. 

4 Lastly, they recommend that portability of the physical performance test document 

between operators be considered. They noted that if a physical performance test is 
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completed by a qualified State Education Department-approved School Bus Driver 

Instructor, it seems reasonable that the test results can be obtained by other 

operators if the school bus driver/attendant changes employment. They state that 

the need to be re-tested if the school bus driver/attendant moves on to another 

employer when a legitimate physical performance test has been conducted in a 

timely fashion and is still valid, seems duplicative as well as an additional cost to the 

operator. 

DEPARTMENT REPONSE: 
 

1 The Department acknowledges that increased training may be an additional 

expense, however, the Department believes that such additional training is 

necessary for the safety of all students. Therefore, no change is necessary. 

2 The Department agrees with this comment and made the proposed revision to the 

rule. 

3 The Department considered this comment; however, the Department does not 

believe any change is needed. 

4 Section 156.3(a)(3)(iii) and (d)(3)(iii) of the proposed rule states that school bus 

drivers, monitors and attendance shall pass the physical performance test at least 

once every two years. The portability of the physical performance test document is 

not limited by the proposed regulation. Therefore, no change is needed. 
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Attachment C 
 

STATEMENT OF FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES WHICH NECESSITATE 

EMERGENCY ACTION 

 The Department initially proposed to amend sections 156.1, 156.2, 156.3, 156.4, 

156.5, and 156.12 of the Commissioner’s Regulations Relating to Pupil Transportation at 

the December 2019 Board of Regents Meeting. Since that time, the Governor of New York 

State has declared a State disaster emergency for the entire State of New York pursuant 

to Executive Order 202 due to the COVID-19 crisis. Subsequently, the Governor issued 

additional Executive Orders in response to the COVID-19 crisis, including orders directing 

the closure of schools and directing nonessential work personnel to work from home. 

 As a result, the proposed amendment was revised to provide regulatory flexibility 

for: 

• required instruction in school bus safety and refresher training instruction; 

• attendance at the required annual Professional Development Seminar by school 

bus driver instructors; 

• master instructor training programs and attendance of master instructors at the 

annual master instructor strategy meeting or the Professional Development 

Seminar; and 

• required timeliness for school bus drills. 

The proposed revised amendment was presented to the Full Board for adoption as  

an emergency action at the April 2020 meeting of the Board of Regents, effective April 7, 

2020. Since the Board of Regents meets at scheduled intervals, the earliest the proposed 

amendment could be presented for regular (nonemergency) adoption, after publication in 
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the State Register and expiration of the 45-day public comment period required in the 

State Administrative Procedure Act (SAPA) Section 202(4-a), is the July 2020 Regents 

meeting. However, the emergency rule will expire on July 5, 2020. 

 Therefore, emergency action is necessary at the June 2020 meeting for the 

preservation of public health and the general welfare in order to immediately provide 

flexibility for certain regulatory requirements relating to pupil transportation in response to 

the COVID-19 crisis and to ensure that the emergency action taken at the April 2020 

meeting remains in effect until the proposed rule can be permanently adopted. 

 It is anticipated that the proposed rule will be presented for adoption as a 

permanent rule at the July 2020 Regents meeting, which is the first scheduled meeting 

after the 45-day public comment period prescribed in SAPA for State agency revised rule 

makings.  
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