
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
 

 

 
 

  
 

   
 

    
 
 

 
 

 
 

 
 

  
 
  
  

 
 

 

  
 

 
 

  
 

 

THE STATE EDUCATION DEPARTMENT / THE UNIVERSITY OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK / ALBANY, NY 12234 

TO: Adult Career and Continuing Education Services 
Committee 

FROM: Ceylane Meyers-Ruff 

SUBJECT: Proposed Amendment to Part 126 of the Regulations of 
the Commissioner Relating to Standards of Financial 
Viability, Accountability, and Evaluating Academic 
Progress in Licensed Private Career Schools and Certified 
English As a Second Language Schools. 

DATE: May 27, 2021 

AUTHORIZATION(S): 

SUMMARY 

Issue for Discussion 

Should the Board of Regents amend Part 126 of the Regulations of the 
Commissioner relating to standards of financial viability, accountability, and evaluating 
academic progress in licensed private career schools and certified English as a second 
language schools? 

Reason(s) for Consideration 

Review of Policy. 

Proposed Handling 

The proposed rule is being presented to the Adult Career and Continuing 
Education Services Committee for discussion at the June 2021 Regents meeting. A 
copy of the proposed amendment is attached (Attachment A). 

Procedural History 

A Notice of Proposed Rule Making will be published in the State Register on 
June 23, 2021 for a 60-day public comment period. Supporting materials are available 
upon request from the Secretary to the Board of Regents. 

ACCES (D) 1



 
 

 
 

 

 
  

  
 

   
  

   
  

   
 

 
 

 

  
 

 
 

 
  

  
 

  
 

 

  
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 

Background Information 

Article 101 of the New York State Education Law and Part 126 of the Regulations 
of the Commissioner provide standards and requirements for postsecondary career 
schools (licensed private career schools) and for-profit English as a second language 
schools (certified ESL schools) to operate in New York State. These standards and 
requirements maintain educational quality and protect students. 

Schools licensed or certified under Part 126 are overseen by the Department’s 
Bureau of Proprietary School Supervision (BPSS). Over the past several years, BPSS 
has identified several areas in need of regulatory support, including the evaluation of 
schools’ financial viability, the collection and use of school data, and the evaluation of 
students’ academic progress. In 2020, the Office of the State Comptroller conducted an 
external audit of BPSS.1 The findings from the OSC audit reinforced BPSS’ analyses of 
Part 126, and the feedback and recommendations from OSC helped form the basis of 
the regulatory amendments proposed herein. 

The Department believes that the proposed amendments will eliminate gaps in 
existing regulations, enhance the Department’s ability to provide quality school 
oversight, improve educational quality, and enhance consumer protection. A summary 
of the proposed amendments is presented below. 

Satisfactory Academic Progress (§126.4(e)(2)) 

Current regulations require that schools perform satisfactory academic progress 
(SAP) evaluations of students but do not specify when, or how often, they must be 
performed. For example, under current rule, a school might allow students to go through 
450 hours out of a 900-hour program before they receive a SAP evaluation, and only 
receive a second evaluation at the end of the program. The proposed amendment to 
126.4(e)(2): 

• Ensures that students receive early and frequent feedback related to their 
academic progress by generally requiring SAP evaluations at the midpoint 
and endpoint of each quarter or term; 

• Clarifies minimum attendance and grade requirements for academic progress 
and graduation; and 

• Creates an early warning provision, where schools must notify students who 
are not meeting academic or attendance requirements. 

1 Office of the State Comptroller, “Licensing and Monitoring of Proprietary Schools,” Jan. 21, 2021, 
available at https://www.osc.state.ny.us/state-agencies/audits/2021/01/21/licensing-and-monitoring-
proprietary-schools. 
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Standard of Financial Viability (§126.8) 

Current law and regulation require licensed private career schools to submit 
annual financial statements.  The Department must review and analyze the financial 
viability of schools based on these filings. In addition, the Department may take 
measures to protect student tuition dollars, such as probation or requiring schools with 
low financial viability to establish a performance bond in the event of a school closure. 
The field will benefit from a better understanding of the process by which the 
Department will analyze financial viability or implement probation and other corrective 
interventions. 

The proposed amendment creates a transparent framework and process for 
assessing the financial viability of all licensed private career schools and certified ESL 
schools. The framework is adapted from the United States Department of Education’s 
system of evaluating the financial viability of postsecondary schools. The Department’s 
Office of Higher Education utilizes portions of this framework in analyzing the financial 
viability of colleges and universities. It was also utilized by the OSC in its recent 
program audit of BPSS. 

Additionally, current regulation requires certified ESL schools to submit an annual 
“statement of revenue” as opposed to audited financial statements. However, it is not 
possible to accurately evaluate the financial viability of schools based on a “statement of 
revenue.” Indeed, over the past several years, several certified ESL schools have 
abruptly shut down due to financial issues that the Department was unable to foresee 
through reviewing such statements. OSC also identified this limitation in the 
Department’s current process and the attendant risks to students in its program audit of 
BPSS. As a solution, the proposed amendment repeals the current section 126.8 of the 
Commissioner’s regulations and adds a new section 126.8 which: 

• Establishes clear criteria for assessing the financial viability of schools: 
schools will be considered financially viable if: (i) the schools’ equity, primary 
reserve and net income rations yield a composite score of at least 1.5; and (ii) 
the school is able to meet all of its financial obligations and provide the 
administrative resources necessary to comply with all licensure or certification 
requirements. 

• Identifies triggering events that may indicate financial viability concerns.  
Schools must notify the Department within five days of any such triggering 
event. 

• Establishes alternative standards of financial viability. A school that is 
determined not to be financially viable may be eligible to continue operation 
by meeting one of the following alternate standards: 

▪ Zone alternative. A school that does not meet the general standards of 
financial viability solely because the composite score falls below 1.5 will 
be eligible for the zone alternative if its composite score falls between 1.0 
and 1.4. 
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▪ Probation. A school that does not meet the general standards of financial 
viability and does not qualify for the zone alternative may be placed on 
probation. By the conclusion of the probationary period, the school must 
demonstrate that it is financially viable by meeting one or more alternative 
methods demonstrating financial viability. If the school cannot, and the 
Commissioner determines that the school’s financial condition continues 
to threaten its ability to educate students and/or jeopardize student tuition 
funds, the Department shall schedule a hearing that may result in 
suspension or revocation of the school’s license. 

• Provides that the commissioner may deny, suspend, revoke or decline to 
renew any license or certification if the commissioner determines that a 
schools’ financial condition may result in the interruption or cessation of 
instruction or jeopardize student tuition funds pursuant to Education Law 
§5001(5)(c)(3). 

• Establishes financial reporting requirements for initial and renewal licensure or 
certification applications, including the submission of audited financial 
statements, and requires schools to submit annual financial statements. 
Previously such requirements only applied to licensed private career schools; 
the proposed amendment expands such requirements to include certified ESL 
schools. 

School Accountability (§126.19) 

Current law and regulation require licensed private career schools to submit 
annual statistical data reports that include information on enrollment, completion, and 
job-placement data. Although annual data reporting is a core element of school 
supervision, the current data has limited utility given the lack of clearly-defined data 
elements and standardized definitions for completion and job-placement rates. In 
addition, as OSC recognized in its program audit, certified ESL schools are not currently 
required to submit any data reports. The proposed section 126.19: 

• Establishes clearly defined data elements to standardize data collection 
across schools. 

• Establishes standardized definitions for “completion rate” and “job-placement 
rate.” 

• Requires both licensed private career schools and certified ESL schools to 
submit annual statistical data reports. 

• Requires schools to report key summary data in their catalogs and 
promotional materials. 

• Permits the commissioner to establish a school data report system on the 
Department’s website that includes data determined to be useful for 
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consumers to make informed decisions about whether they should attend a 
licensed or certified school. 

Student Social Security Numbers on Enrollment Agreements (§126.7(b)(5)) 

Current regulation requires student social security numbers to be included on 
student enrollment agreements, which are jointly signed by a student and school agent. 
A student’s social security number is highly confidential, and there are other ways to 
validate students’ identity without including such information on enrollment agreements. 
The proposed amendment eliminates this requirement, thus providing better data 
privacy for students. 

Required 30-day Notice Prior to School Closure (§126.11(c)) 

Subdivision (c) of section 126.11 of Regulations of the Commissioner requires 
licensed private career schools to provide the Department with at least 30 days’ notice 
prior to a school’s closure. This notice helps to ensure that a plan is in place for 
displaced students and for the maintenance of student records. However, no such 
regulation exists for certified ESL schools. There have been several cases over the past 
few years where certified ESL schools have provided minimal or no notice of closure. 
The proposed amendment closes this gap and ensures that ESL schools provide the 
same notice to the Department that licensed private career schools must provide. 

Prohibition from Enrolling New Students Upon a Denial of Licensure Renewal 
(§126.10(b)) 

When a school submits a timely and complete application for the renewal of its 
license to operate, regulation guides that the Department provide schools with a written 
approval or denial 30 days prior to the expiration of the school license. In the case of a 
denial, this 30-day notice provides time to teach-out or transition students and 
implement a plan for the permanent safe-keeping of student records. The proposed 
amendment ensures that schools do not enroll any students after such a denial but 
before expiration of its current license. 

Academic Standing and Counseling Records (§126.11(a)) 

The proposed amendment requires schools to maintain documentation of the 
academic standing evaluations and academic counseling in the student record. 

Technical Amendments (§126.10(j)) 

The proposed amendment makes technical revisions to subdivision (j) of section 
126.10 of the Commissioner’s regulations to clarify that sections 126.8, 126,19, and 
126.11(c) of the Commissioner’s regulations are applicable to certified ESL schools. 
Additionally, such section is amended to remove language that is now superfluous in 
light of the amendments to section 126.8 regarding financial reporting requirements for 
certified ESL schools. 
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Related Regents Items 

None. 

Recommendation 

Not applicable. 

Timetable for Implementation 

Following the 60-day public comment period required under the State 
Administrative Procedure Act, it is anticipated that the proposed rule will be presented to 
the Board of Regents for permanent adoption at the September 2021 Regents meeting. 
If adopted at the September meeting, the proposed amendment will become effective 
on September 29, 2021. 
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AMENDMENT TO THE REGULATIONS OF THE COMMISSIONER OF EDUCATION 

Pursuant to sections 207, 305, and 5001 through 5010 of the Education Law. 

1. Subparagraph (2) of subdivision (e) of section 126.4 of the Regulations of the 

Commissioner of Education is repealed and a new subparagraph (2) is added to read as 

follows: 

(2) A school shall determine the academic standing of each student in accordance 

with the following: 

(i) Schools shall use a cumulative grade point average of 70 percent or higher, or 

its equivalent in the letter-grade scale approved in the school’s catalog, when determining 

the minimum allowable academic standing of each student at each evaluation point. 

(ii) Schools shall use a cumulative attendance rate of 70 percent or higher when 

determining the minimum allowable cumulative attendance of each student at each 

evaluation point. Attendance rate shall be calculated by the number of instructional hours 

attended divided by the number of instructional hours offered. 

(iii) Schools offering programs of seven weeks or more shall evaluate the academic 

standing of students at intervals of no less than the midpoint and endpoint of each quarter 

or term, as defined on the student enrollment agreement. 

(iv) Schools offering programs of less than seven weeks shall evaluate the 

academic standing of students at no less than the midpoint of the program, as defined on 

the student enrollment agreement. 

(v) Students who do not meet the minimum cumulative grade point average or the 

minimum attendance rate at the midpoint evaluation shall be provided a written notice of 

warning. 

(vi) Students who have been provided a written notice of warning at the midpoint 

evaluation and who do not meet the minimum cumulative grade point average or the 



 
 

      

  

  

   

  

  

      

 

     

 

    

    

  

 

       

       

  

 

    

     

    

 

minimum attendance rate at the conclusion of each quarter or term as defined in the 

student enrollment agreement shall be placed on probation or withdrawn from the 

program. 

(vii) The maximum period of probation shall be the conclusion of the next 

consecutive quarter or term after the student has been placed on probation, as defined in 

the student enrollment agreement. 

(viii) Schools shall offer academic counseling and remediation for all students 

placed on probation. 

(ix) Students who have been placed on probation and who do not meet the 

minimum cumulative grade point average or the minimum attendance rate at the 

conclusion of the probation period shall be withdrawn from the program. Prior to 

withdrawal, and at the school’s discretion, students may be afforded no more than thirty 

days to make up assignments or instructional hours to achieve satisfactory academic 

standing as required by this section. 

(x) No student shall graduate from a program with less than a 70 percent 

cumulative grade point average, or its equivalent in the letter-grade scale approved in the 

school’s catalog, or earning less than 70% of the program’s total instructional hours, 

unless otherwise mandated by curriculum requirements. 

(xi) Schools shall provide students a copy of each academic standing evaluation, 

which shall contain the student’s and director’s signatures. 

2. Subdivision (a) of section 126.11 is amended by adding subparagraph (13) to 

read as follows: 
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(13) documentation of the academic standing evaluations and academic 

counseling in the student record pursuant to subparagraph (2) of subdivision (e) of section 

126.4 of this Part, on forms approved by the commissioner. 

3. Subparagraph (5) of subdivision (b) of section 126.7 is amended to read as 

follows: 

(5) the name and date of birth [and social security number] of the student; 

4. Section 126.8 is repealed and a new section 126.8 is added to read as follows: 

126.8 Financial Viability and Reporting 

All schools shall meet and maintain the standards of financial viability and reporting 

set forth in this section as a requirement and condition of licensure or certification. For the 

purposes of this section, school shall mean school as it is defined in subdivision (p) of 

section 126.1 of this Title and shall additionally include Certified English as a second 

language schools as defined in subdivision (x) of section 126.1. 

(a) General standards of financial viability. (1) The commissioner shall consider a 

school to be financially viable if the commissioner determines that: 

(i) the school’s equity, primary reserve, and net income ratios yield a composite 

score of at least 1.5, using the methodology set forth in federal regulation 34 CFR section 

668.172. The composite score shall be calculated at the highest level of ownership; and 

(ii) the school is able to meet all of its financial obligations and provide the 

administrative resources necessary to comply with all licensure or certification 

requirements. A school is deemed unable to meet its financial or administrative 

obligations pursuant to this paragraph if: 

(a) the school does not have sufficient operating cash flow and liquidity, as 

determined by the commissioner; or 
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(b) the school is subject to any of the triggering events set forth in subdivision (b) 

of this section and the commissioner determines such triggering event is likely to have a 

material adverse effect on the financial condition of the school or indicates a distressed 

financial condition. 

(2) No school shall be considered financially viable pursuant to this subdivision 

where a school owner: 

(i) owes an outstanding liability to the department for the school or any other 

licensed or certified school, previously licensed or certified school, or unlicensed school 

for which the owner has or previously had an ownership interest and fails to demonstrate 

that such liability is being paid in accordance with law, regulation, order, settlement, or 

other written agreement with the department; or 

(ii) owes a liability to the department for any violation of Article 101 of the Education 

Law or this Part and fails to demonstrate that such liability is being paid in accordance 

with law, regulation, order, settlement, or other written agreement with the department. 

(b) Triggering events. 

(1) The commissioner may determine that a school is not able to meet its financial 

or administrative obligations upon occurrence of any of the following triggering events 

and a subsequent determination by the commissioner that such event is likely to have a 

material adverse effect on the financial condition of the school or indicate a distressed 

financial condition:  

(i) the school’s financial statement, regardless of the school’s composite score, 

contains any adverse, qualified, or disclaimed opinions, or any disclosure in the notes to 

the financial statement that there is substantial doubt about the school’s ability to continue 
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as a going concern in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting 

principles; 

(ii) failure to timely and completely pay any assessments that may be due pursuant 

to sections 5001(9), 5007(10)(d), and 5007(10)(e) of the Education Law, and section 

126.10(j)(11) of this Part; 

(iii) failure to timely and completely submit any financial statements that may be 

due pursuant to section 5001(4) of the Education Law and section 126.10(j)(11) of this 

Part; 

(iv) failure to timely pay a student refund where a school is required to pay such 

refund pursuant to Article 101 of the Education Law and this Part, or under any other law, 

regulation, or accreditation standard, or any failure to timely pay such refund; 

(v) the school has an unacceptable level of annual student dropout/withdrawal 

rates, as determined by the commissioner; 

(vi) the school demonstrates a precipitous decline in student enrollment or gross 

tuition income, as determined by the commissioner; 

(vii) violation of a provision or requirement in a security or loan agreement with a 

creditor; 

(viii) failure to make a timely lease, rent or other debt service payment; or any 

notice of eviction, order to vacate, or any other event or action that may impact a school’s 

ability to operate at its licensed location; 

(ix) issuance of a notice or order by a school's accrediting agency, such as an 

order to show cause or similar action, that, if not satisfied, could result in the withdrawal, 

revocation or suspension of institutional accreditation for failing to meet one or more of 

the agency's standards; 
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(x) if the school is publicly traded, any material adverse action taken against the 

school by the United States Securities and Exchange Commission, including but not 

limited to revocation of registration, delisting, or sanction for untimely or incomplete filing 

of required reports; 

(xi) any notice, order, or action taken by the United States government or an agent 

or instrumentality thereof that could result in the withdrawal, revocation, or suspension of 

a school’s federal Student Exchange Visitor Program certification; or 

(xii) any substantial withdrawal of owner equity from the school by any means that 

results in, or that the commissioner determines will likely result in, the school’s composite 

score falling below 1.0. 

(2) Schools must notify the department in writing, within five days of the occurrence 

of any action or event identified in subparagraphs (vii) through (xii) of paragraph (1) of 

this subdivision. Upon receiving such notice, the commissioner may require the school to 

provide additional information and reports, and may require the school to notify students 

and provide students with information and guidance regarding the potential implications 

of the action or event on student enrollment status, continued instruction, tuition funds 

and refunds, as well as all transfer options. 

(c) Alternative standards of financial viability. The commissioner may permit a 

school that is not financially viable under the general standards set forth in subdivision (a) 

of this section, to be licensed or certified or continue its licensed or certified operation by 

meeting one of the alternate standards set forth in this subdivision. 

(1) Zone alternative. A school that does not meet the general standards of financial 

viability solely because the commissioner determines that the composite score for its 

most recent fiscal year falls below 1.5 may nevertheless be found financially viable if: (1) 
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the commissioner approves a plan, submitted by the school, which adequately details the 

actions the school is taking to improve its financial viability and to mitigate any risk to the 

interruption or cessation of instruction and to student tuition funds; and (2) maintains a 

composite score of between 1.0 and 1.4 or higher for each of its two subsequent fiscal 

years. 

(i) The commissioner shall notify any such school in writing that it is eligible for the 

zone alternative. 

(ii) The plan shall be received no later than sixty days from the date of the 

commissioner’s notice to the school of its eligibility for the zone alternative. 

(iii) A school may qualify for this alternative for no more than three consecutive 

years. 

(2) Probation. A school that does not meet the general standards of financial 

viability and does not qualify for the zone alternative may be placed on probation, in the 

discretion of the commissioner, for a period of no more than one year. Such probation 

may include additional monitoring, inspections, limitations on enrollment, teaching out 

some or all of a school’s present students, or temporary cessation of instruction. 

(i) A school placed on probation shall submit reports on its financial condition as 

directed by the commissioner. Such report shall be on a form and shall include content 

prescribed by the commissioner and shall be reviewed by the commissioner to determine 

the school’s financial viability. The commissioner may require that this report be 

completed by an independent auditor. 

(ii) During the probationary period, the school and the department shall make 

efforts to resolve the problems at the school, through the school’s demonstration of 
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alternative methods of financial viability acceptable to the commissioner. Alternative 

methods of demonstrating financial viability may include: 

(a) the school securing a performance bond payable to the department, in a form 

and manner determined by the commissioner, and in an amount appropriate to eliminate 

any liability to the tuition reimbursement account should the school cease operation; 

(b) the school limiting its collection of tuition funds until each student completes 

their program of study; 

(c) establishing a trust account for the sole and exclusive benefit of students, 

pursuant to section 5008 of the Education Law; or, 

(d) any other means acceptable to the commissioner. 

(iii) By the conclusion of the probationary period, the school must satisfactorily 

demonstrate to the commissioner that it is financially viable by meeting one or more 

alternative methods of demonstrating financial viability set forth in this subdivision, or the 

general standards set forth in subdivision (a) of this section. If the school cannot 

demonstrate to the commissioner that it is financially viable by one or more methods set 

forth in this subparagraph, and if the commissioner determines that the school’s financial 

condition continues to threaten its ability to educate students and/or jeopardize student 

tuition funds, the commissioner shall schedule a hearing pursuant to subdivisions (2) and 

(3) of section 5003 of the Education law, to consider suspension or revocation the school’s 

license. 

(3) The commissioner may require applicants for initial licensure or certification 

that are newly formed and that have not completed any fiscal years from which to 

determine a composite score to establish a performance bond, trust account, or other 

means acceptable to the commissioner as an alternative to the requirement set forth in 
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paragraph (a)(1) of this section, provided that the applicant meets the standards set forth 

in paragraphs (a)(2) and (a)(3) of this section. 

(d) Administrative actions. The commissioner may deny, suspend, revoke or 

decline to renew any license or certification if the commissioner determines that a school’s 

financial condition may result in the interruption or cessation of instruction or jeopardize 

student tuition funds pursuant to section 5001(5)(c)(3) of the Education Law. 

(e) Financial Reporting. 

(1) Applicants for initial licensure or certification shall provide the following financial 

reports, as applicable, to the commissioner: 

(i) a balance sheet of the corporate entity or partnership with a certification of 

accuracy signed by the individual shareholders of the corporation or partners, and dated 

not more than 30 days prior to the date of the license application; 

(ii) a certificate of incorporation for a corporate entity, or a partnership agreement 

for a partnership; 

(iii) a statement indicating the location and type of all bank accounts held by the 

corporate owners or partners in their official capacities; 

(iv) audited financial statements for the previous two fiscal years. 

(v) a projected operating budget, including all projected expenses, revenues, 

profits and losses, by month, for two consecutive 12-month periods (the first two projected 

years) for initial licensure; and 

(vi) such other information as the commissioner may require regarding the 

adequacy of the applicant’s resources beyond all indebtedness available for educational 

purposes and to ensure the capability of the prospective school to meet its financial 

obligations. 
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(2) Applicants for renewal of licensure or certification shall submit audited financial 

statements in accordance with section 5001(4)(a) of the Education Law. The annual 

financial statements submitted pursuant to paragraph (3) of this subdivision shall satisfy 

this submission requirement, provided that for schools described in subparagraph (ii) of 

paragraph (3) of this subdivision, the annual financial statement submitted immediately 

prior to the due date of the renewal application is an audited financial statement. 

(3) All schools shall submit annual financial statements in accordance with the 

following provisions: 

(i) Any school that received five hundred thousand dollars or more in gross tuition 

in a school fiscal year shall be required to submit to the commissioner an annual audited 

financial statement prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles 

for that fiscal year. In addition, any school that has a gross tuition of less than five hundred 

thousand dollars in a school fiscal year but whose combined state and federal student 

financial aid in such year equals one hundred thousand dollars or more 

shall also submit an annual audited financial statement to the commissioner for that fiscal 

year. 

(ii) Schools whose gross tuition is less than five hundred thousand dollars in a 

School fiscal year and which receive less than one hundred thousand dollars in state and 

federal student financial aid in a school fiscal year shall file with the commissioner an 

unaudited financial statement in a format prescribed by the commissioner, provided, 

however, that any such school shall file an audited financial statement the fiscal year after 

a reviewed financial statement is submitted. For such schools, audited financial 

statements are required every two years, at minimum, with reviewed financial statements 

allowed during the alternate year. Upon a determination by the commissioner that a 

16 



 
 

    

  

     

 

    

    

 

   

  

   

  

 

 

    

 

       

   

   

   

     

 

     

 

school has submitted false or inaccurate statements or that a significant, unsubstantiated 

decline in gross tuition has occurred, the commissioner may require any such school to 

file an audited financial statement pursuant to this paragraph even during alternate years 

when reviewed statements would ordinarily be allowed. 

(iii) annual financial statements shall be due no later than 120 days from the end 

of the school’s fiscal year. The commissioner may extend this deadline for up to 60 days 

for good cause shown, as determined by the commissioner. 

(iv) annual financial statements shall include the following data, disaggregated by 

each licensed location: 

(a) the gross tuition income for all approved occupational curricula and non-

occupational courses; and 

(b) an itemized account of tuition refunds due and owing to past or presently 

enrolled students, separated out for each licensed or certified location. 

5. Subdivision (b) of section 126.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of 

Education is amended to read as follows: 

(b) An application for renewal of any license shall be submitted at least 120 days 

prior to the expiration date of the current authorization, on a form prescribed by the 

commissioner and accompanied by the statutory fee; annual financial reports on forms 

prescribed by the commissioner; and such other information as the commissioner may 

require. When complete and timely application for renewal of any license has been made, 

the school shall receive a written approval or denial, together with the reasons for denial 

of renewal, from the commissioner no less than 30 days prior to the date such license 

expires. Upon receiving a written denial, a school shall not enroll new students for the 

remainder of the term of the existing license. 
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6. Subdivision (f) of section 126.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of 

Education is repealed. 

7. Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (j) of section 126.10 of the 

Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended to read as follows: 

(i) Nonpublicly funded ESL schools shall be exempt from the requirements of this 

Part and Article 101 of the Education Law, except as provided in this subdivision and 

[subdivisions] sections 126.1, 126.8, [and] 126.18, 126.19 and subdivision (c) of section 

126.11 of this Part, [and] paragraphs (b) and (c) of subdivision (1) of section 5001 of the 

Education Law, and subdivision (3) of section 5004 of the Education Law. 

8. Subclause 8 of clause (b) of subparagraph (i) of paragraph (2) of subdivision 

(j) of section 126.10(j) of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended 

to read as follows: 

(8) [an unaudited statement of revenue, as prescribed by the commissioner, for 

the previous fiscal year] financial documentation as required by paragraph (1) of 

subdivision (e) of section 126.8 of this Part. 

9. Clause (b) of subparagraph (ii) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (j) of section 

126.10 of the Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended to read as 

follow: 

(b) [Schools which received $500,000 or more in gross tuition 

in the previous school fiscal year shall submit with such completed application an audited 

statement of revenue to the commissioner for that fiscal year, and schools which received 

less than $500,000 in gross tuition in the previous school fiscal year shall submit either 

an audited statement of revenue or an unaudited reviewed statement of revenue, as 

prescribed by the commissioner, for that fiscal year provided that the school choosing to 
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submit an unaudited reviewed statement of revenue had submitted an audited statement 

of revenue in the preceding year] Schools shall submit financial documentation as 

required by paragraph (2) of subdivision (e) of section 126.8 of this Part with their renewal 

applications. 

10. Subparagraph (i) of paragraph (11) of subdivision (j) of section 126.10 of the 

Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended to read as follow: 

(i) The commissioner shall annually assess each school an assessment equal to 

five-tenths of one percent of its gross tuition, as determined by the [audited statement of 

revenue or the unaudited reviewed statement of revenue, as required by this subdivision] 

annual financial statements submitted in accordance with paragraph (3) of subdivision (e) 

of section 126.8 of this Part, of which three-tenths of one percent shall accrue to the 

benefit of the proprietary vocational school supervision account. [Any school which 

received $500,000 or more in gross tuition in a school fiscal year shall be required to 

submit to the commissioner an annual audited statement of revenue prepared in 

accordance with generally accepted accounting principles for that fiscal year. In addition, 

any school which has a gross tuition of less than $500,000 in a school fiscal year shall 

file with the commissioner either an audited statement of revenue or an unaudited 

reviewed statement of revenue provided, however, that any such school shall file an 

audited statement of revenue the fiscal year after an unaudited reviewed statement of 

revenue is submitted. For such schools, audited statements of revenue are required every 

two years, at minimum, with unaudited reviewed statements of revenue allowed during 

the alternate year. Upon a determination by the commissioner that a school has submitted 

false or inaccurate statements or that a significant, unsubstantiated decline in gross tuition 

has occurred, the commissioner may require any such school to file an audited statement 
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of revenue pursuant to this paragraph even during alternate years when unaudited 

reviewed statements would ordinarily allowed.] 

11. The Regulations of the Commissioner of Education is amended by adding a 

new section 126.19 to read as follows: 

126.19 School Accountability. 

(a) Annual statistical data reports. Each school shall report annual statistical data 

in a form and manner prescribed by the commissioner and each school owner shall certify 

that such data are true and accurate. The commissioner may require independently 

audited statistical data reports at the school’s expense upon a determination that a school 

has provided false or inaccurate certified data reports. The reporting period shall be from 

July 1 to June 30. For the purposes of this section, unless otherwise specified, school 

shall mean school as it is defined in subdivision (p) of section 126.1 of this Title and 

certified English as a second language schools as defined in subdivision (x) of section 

126.1 of this Title. For the purposes of this section, contracted program start date and 

contracted program end date shall mean the start date and end dates of the curriculum 

or course as identified on students’ enrollment agreements. 

(1) Licensed private career schools. (i) By no later than April 1, 2022, licensed 

private career schools shall submit statistical data reports from the immediately preceding 

reporting year, in a form and manner prescribed the commissioner. Statistical data reports 

shall use data elements similar to the previous reporting year, and shall include, but are 

not limited to, enrollment, completion, and job-placement data. 

(ii) By no later than April 1, 2023, and no later than April 1 of each calendar year 

thereafter, licensed private career schools shall submit statistical data from the 

immediately preceding reporting period for each approved curriculum or course, 
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excluding approved non-occupational courses as defined in section 126.1(t) of this Title. 

This data shall include, but is not limited to, the following: 

(a) the number of individuals who submitted an application for admission to the 

program during the reporting period; 

(b) the number of applicants whose applications were accepted for admission 

during the reporting period; 

(c) the number of applicants whose applications were denied admission during the 

reporting period; 

(d) the number of students enrolled with a contracted program start and end date 

within the reporting period; 

(e) the number of students enrolled with a contracted program start date during the 

reporting period that have a contracted program end date in a subsequent specified 

reporting period; 

(f) the number of students enrolled with a contracted program start date in a 

previous reporting period that have a contracted program end date within the reporting 

period; 

(g) the number of students who successfully completed the program during the 

reporting period; 

(h) the number of students enrolled with a contracted program start date during the 

reporting period who dropped out or were withdrawn from the program during the 

reporting period; 

(i) the number of students enrolled with a contracted program start date during a 

previous specified reporting period who have dropped out or were withdrawn from the 

program during the reporting period; 
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(j) the number of students who had a contracted program end date occurred during 

the reporting period but were still enrolled at the end of the reporting period; 

(k) the number of students who completed the program within the reporting period 

and who, within one-hundred and eighty days from the end of the reporting period, 

obtained employment in the occupation for which they were trained or in a related, 

comparable occupation; 

(l) the number of students who completed the program within the reporting period 

who were unavailable for employment due to the following reasons: death; incarceration; 

health issues that prevent employment; enrolled in a continuing postsecondary education 

program; and, active military duty; 

(m) the number of students enrolled in the program during the reporting period 

who received funding or credit for tuition and fees from each of the following sources: 

New York State tuition assistance program (TAP); federal Pell Grants; federal Title IV 

loans borrowed by the student; Direct Plus loans made to parents of dependent students; 

federal veterans benefits; private education loans; adult career and continuing education 

vocational rehabilitation funding; and any other credit extended by or on behalf of the 

institution that the student is obligated to repay; 

(n) the total cost of tuition for completion of the program as identified in the 

approved enrollment agreement; and 

(o) the total costs of fees for completion of the program as identified in the 

approved enrollment agreement. 

(iii) At the commissioner’s direction, the data required to be reported in 

subparagraphs (a) through (l) of subparagraph (ii) of this paragraph shall be 

disaggregated by: students possessing a high school completion diploma or its 

22 



 
 

   

    

     

 

   

 

   

         

 

  

 

   

 

   

 

      

     

 

  

   

    

 

equivalent and students who are enrolled without a high school diploma but who have 

been administered and have passed an ability to benefit-examination; full-time and part-

time students; international students studying on federal student visas; and any other 

demographic or sub-group characteristics that the commissioner may determine to be 

necessary to review the performance of the school. 

(iv) By no later than April 1, 2023, and no later than April 1 of each calendar year 

thereafter, licensed private career schools shall submit data for non-occupational 

courses, as defined in subdivision (t) of section 126.1 of this Part, offered in the preceding 

reporting period. Data submitted shall include but not be limited to the following: 

(a) the total number of non-occupational courses offered during the reporting 

period; 

(b) the total number of students enrolled in non-occupational courses during the 

reporting period; and 

(c) the total number of students completing non-occupational courses during the 

reporting period. 

(2) Certified English as a second language schools. By no later than April 1, 2023, 

and no later than April 1 of each calendar year thereafter, certified English as a Second 

Language Schools shall submit statistical data from the preceding reporting period, for 

each approved program. This data shall include, but is not limited to: 

(i) the number of students enrolled in the program for the first time during the 

reporting period, that have a contracted program start date and end date within the 

reporting period; 
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(ii) the number of students enrolled in the program for the first time during the 

reporting period that have a contracted program start date within the reporting period and 

a contracted program end date in a subsequent specified reporting period; 

(iii) the number of students repeating the program during the reporting period, that 

have a contracted program start date within the reporting period and a contracted 

program end date within the reporting period; 

(iii) the number of students repeating the program during the reporting period, that 

have a contracted program start date within the reporting period and a contracted 

program end date in a subsequent specified reporting period; 

(iv) the number of students who successfully completed the program during the 

reporting period without the need to repeat it; 

(v) the number of students enrolled during the reporting period who dropped out 

or who were withdrawn from the program during the reporting period; 

(vi) the number of students enrolled during a previous specified reporting period 

who have dropped out or who were withdrawn from the program during the reporting 

period; 

(vii) the number of students whose contracted program end date occurred during 

the reporting period but who were still enrolled at the end of the reporting period; 

(viii) the number of students enrolled who were international students studying on 

a student visa or other visa; 

(ix) the total cost of tuition for completion of the program as identified on the 

approved enrollment agreement; and 

(x) the total costs of fees for completion of the program as identified in the approved 

enrollment agreement. 
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(b) Data analysis, reporting, and use. 

(1) Licensed private career schools. The commissioner shall analyze the statistical 

data submitted by licensed private career schools pursuant to paragraph (1) of 

subdivision (a) of this section and shall also calculate the completion rate and job 

placement rate for each approved curriculum or course (excluding non-occupational 

courses as defined in section 126.1(t) of this Part). The commissioner may also calculate 

school-level averages of completion and job placement rates. 

(i) The completion rate shall be calculated as follows: the number of students who 

successfully completed the program during the reporting period divided by the number of 

students who enrolled in a program with a contracted program end date within the 

reporting period. 

(ii) The job placement rate shall be calculated as follows: the number of students 

who successfully completed the program within the reporting period who, within one-

hundred and eighty days from the end of the reporting period, obtained employment in 

the occupation for which they were trained or in a related, comparable occupation divided 

by the number of students who completed the program within the reporting period. 

Students who completed programs within a reporting period but who are unavailable for 

employment due to the following reasons shall be excluded from the denominator of the 

job placement rate calculations: death; incarceration; health issues that prevented 

employment; enrollment in a continuing postsecondary education program; and active 

military duty. 

(2) Certified English as a second language schools. The commissioner shall 

analyze the statistical data submitted by certified English as a Second Language (ESL) 

Schools pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of this section and shall also 
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calculate the completion rate for all ESL curricula. The completion rate shall be calculated 

as follows: the number of students who successfully completed the program during the 

reporting period divided by the number of students enrolled in a program with a contracted 

program end date within the reporting period. 

(3) The commissioner may post on the department’s website in a form and manner 

determined by the commissioner, a summary report for each school that includes but is 

not limited to the data collected pursuant to this section, determined by the commissioner 

to be useful for consumers to make informed decisions regarding such schools. 

(4) The school owner of each school shall be responsible for reporting data for 

each school curriculum pursuant to paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subdivision, except for 

non-occupational courses as defined in subdivision (t) of section 126.1 of this Part, clearly 

and prominently on the school’s website, the school catalog, and any advertising or 

promotional materials that reference such data. Schools may not satisfy the required 

disclosure of department calculated completion and job placement rates, or any other 

data required to be reported under this section, with alternate measures or methods that 

may be required by accreditors or other regulatory bodies. In instances where accreditors 

or other regulatory bodies require public disclosure but will not accept department 

calculated or reported measures, both data shall be reported in the sources identified 

above. The data shall include: 

(i) the most recent department-calculated completion rates; 

(ii) the most recent department-calculated job-placement rates; 

(iii) the total costs of program completion, including tuition and fees; and 

(iv) the normal time to program completion. 
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(5) The commissioner shall review and consider the data reported by schools and 

the corresponding completion and job placement rates calculated by the department 

pursuant to this section in making a determination to approve or deny an application for 

school licensure or certification pursuant to 126.10(a), 126.10(b), and 126.10(j)(2) of this 

Part. 

(6) The commissioner shall review and consider all of the data reported by schools 

and the completion and job placement rates calculated by the department pursuant to this 

section in making a determination of whether or to reapprove or deny a curriculum, and 

in making a determination of whether to approve or deny similar curricula proposed or 

offered by the school. 

(c) Data, reports, and correspondence with other oversight entities. Schools shall 

submit, upon request from the commissioner, any data, reports, information, or 

correspondence to or from a school’s accrediting body or other entity from which the 

school receives authorization, funding, or oversight, that the commissioner deems 

necessary to the Department’s oversight of the school. Information requested by the 

commissioner shall be provided no later than five business days from the date of the 

request. 
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